From Cycle News Online:

Lacerenza Lacerates ’em!

ENGLISHTOWN, NJ – For the first time this season, nice weather greeted the racers in attendance at Raceway Park. Every race so far this season has had some form of precipitation, but Sunday brought sunny skies and temperatures in the mid-60s.

In 85cc (12-13) class action, Rossini Racing Products-sponsored Larry McVay put his Suzuki out front early and never relinquished his lead. In the first moto, behind McVay, there was a three-way battle among Six Six One/Scott Goggles-sponsored Chris Duymich, Action Yamaha/Dragon Goggles-backed Damian Krause, and NY Motorcycle Kawasaki rider Austin Harvey. The trio went at it the entire moto, swapping positions, with Krause taking second and Duymich in third. The second moto again was another McVay runaway; he was followed by Krause in second and Mount Holly Suzuki-sponsored Morgan Gustray in third. McVay won the overall, followed by Krause and then Duymich.

With the large number of 125cc Novice riders in attendance, qualifiers had to be run to determine the grid for the second moto. In qualifier number one, Diggin Racing-sponsored Mike Lacerenza (20) put his Kawasaki out front early and started to run away from the pack. Behind Lacerenza were Suzuki rider Jason Gourley and Tom Scott. Michael Voorhees and Carl Carmella joined the chase after Lacerenza, to no avail. Lacerenza took the win, followed by Voorhees and Carmella.

In the second qualifier, Suzuki rider Nick Myers jumped out to an early lead, followed by Charles Sherby and Tyler Golding. Fairway Honda-sponsored Sherby went on for the win, followed by Golding and Yamaha rider James Henshaw.

The final saw first-qualifier winner Lacerenza again out front and running away from the field. Sherby kept him in sight but couldn’t make the pass by the time the checkered flag fell. Lacerenza took the moto and overall win, followed by Sherby in second and Nick Myers in third. Third overall, by virtue of 2-4 moto scores, was Voorhees.

The next event at Raceway Park will be May 27.


65 (7-9): 1. Jacob Hartranft (Kaw); 2. Brandon Hartranft (Kaw); 3. Matthew Mangine (KTM); 4. Tyler Betsch (Suz); 5. Andrew Maroney (Kaw).

65 (10-11): 1. Matthew Gahrmann (KTM); 2. Angelo Curro (KTM); 3. Bryan Brown (KTM); 4. Brian Laul Jr. (KTM); 5. Richie Trevelise (Hon).

85 (7-11): 1. Bruce Redfield (Suz); 2. Jacob Hartranft (Kaw); 3. Matthew Gahrmann (KTM); 4. Jake Scott (Yam); 5. Angelo Curro (KTM).

85 (12-13): 1. Larry McVay (Suz); 2. Damian Krause (Yam); 3. Christopher Duymich (Hon); 4. Morgan Gustray (Suz); 5. Timmy Vogel (Suz).

85 (14-15): 1. Billy Allen Jr. (Suz); 2. Larry Cella (Kaw); 3. Zachary Reinson (Kaw); 4. Joe Mumola (Suz); 5. Allan Schaeffer (Kaw).

JR MINI (9-13): 1. Damian Krause (Yam); 2. Bruce Redfield (Suz); 3. Jacob Hartranft (Kaw); 4. Jake Scott (Yam); 5. Jesse Pierce (Hon).

S/MINI (12-15): 1. Charles Sherby Jr. (Hon); 2. Larry McVay (Suz); 3. Billy Allen Jr. (Suz); 4. Jed Brown (Suz); 5. Christopher Duymich (Hon).

125 NOV: 1. Mike Lacerenza (Kaw); 2. Charles Sherby Jr. (Hon); 3. Michael Voorhees (Yam); 4. Tyler Golding (Hon); 5. Jason Gourley (Suz).

125 AM: 1. Bryan Wallace; 2. Peter Devlin (Suz); 3. Ryan Gainey (Hon); 4. Nicholas McPhee (Suz); 5. Jon Reber (Suz).

125 EX: 1. Michael Gesso (Suz); 2. Anthony Roth (Hon); 3. Robert Malkiewicz (Kaw); 4. Richard Lax (Hon); 5. Taylor Murphy (Suz).

250 NOV: 1. Michael Voorhees (Yam); 2. George Dennis (Suz); 3. Greg Ziola (Hon); 4. Brett Tave (KTM); 5. Gregory Jaronczyk (Suz).

250 AM: 1. Peter Devlin (Suz); 2. Ryan Gainey (Hon); 3. Bryan Wallace; 4. Dakota Kessler (Kaw); 5. Nicholas McPhee (Suz).

250 EX: 1. Anthony Roth (Hon); 2. Michael Gesso (Suz); 3. Ronnie Stewart (Hon); 4. Brian Smith (KTM); 5. Chris Prenderville (Suz).

WMN: 1. Nikki Stewart (Kaw); 2. Virginia Roma; 3. Barbara Toribio; 4. Meaghan Metz (Yam); 5. Jennifer Singleton (Yam).

SCHBY (12-15) 2-STRK: 1. Sal Calamita (Hon); 2. Charles Sherby Jr. (Hon); 3. Brett Tave (KTM); 4. Greg Carper (Yam); 5. Dylan Thompson (KTM).

SCHBY (12-15) 4-STRK: 1. Nicholas McPhee (Suz); 2. Mike Lacerenza (Kaw); 3. Jon Reber (Suz); 4. Nick Myers (Suz); 5. Arthur Stryker (Hon).

CLGBY (16-24): 1. Peter Devlin (Suz); 2. Michael Gesso (Suz); 3. James Mushalla (Yam); 4. Evan Forosisky (Kaw); 5. Daniel Grimm (Yam).

25+ AM: 1. Allan Duigon (Hon); 2. Alex Listash (Kaw); 3. Jude Harper (Yam); 4. John Tavernese (Yam); 5. Victor Palmieri (Hon).

25+ EX: 1. Robert Quinn (Yam); 2. Brian Smith (KTM); 3. Carl Anderson (Hon); 4. Chris Prenderville (Suz); 5. Jerry Seip (Hon).

30+ NOV: 1. Kevin Kerr (Hon); 2. Lawrence McVay (Hon); 3. Cristian Dutra; 4. Daniel Molmar (Hon); 5. James Reese (Yam).

30+ AM: 1. Victor Palmieri (Hon); 2. Alex Listash (Kaw); 3. Michael Lewis (Hon); 4. Alfred Portilla (Hon); 5. Joseph LaPlaca (Hon).

30+ EX: 1. Robert Quinn (Yam); 2. Jerry Seip (Hon); 3. Brian Smith (KTM); 4. Larry Harper (Suz); 5. Chris Prenderville (Suz).

40+ AM: 1. Joseph LaPlaca (Hon); 2. Scott Sampson (Hon); 3. Karl Baumann (Hon); 4. Jerry Rizziello (Hon); 5. Ted Howell (Hon).

40+ EX: 1. Jerry Seip (Hon); 2. Larry Harper (Suz); 3. Marc Tiesler (Hon); 4. Harold Johnson (Hon); 5. Bob Sorenson (Hon).