From Cycle News online:

Harper Strings ’em Along at Raceway Park


Another typical New Jersey summer afternoon greeted the riders at Englishtown’s Raceway Park. With temperatures in the mid-80s and humidity nearly the same, the track and the weather combined to challenge everyone. With thunderstorms predicted for the afternoon, it was critical for those who harbored any hopes of finishing well overall to do well in the first moto.

The first Over 25 Expert moto’s holeshot went to Honda-mounted Darren Edsall, who was followed closely by Jim Mc Ilvaine and Jason Harper (770). The Mickey Kessler-prepared track made for excellent racing. Harper pushed his Mount Holly Suzuki past Edsall in the back section and tried to make a run for it. Edsall had his hand full with a trio of Honda riders. McIlvaine, Onorino Fascelli, and (making a rare appearance) former GNCC competitor Joel Dengler were hot on Edsall’s rear fender. The positions remained the same, though, with Dragon Optical-backed Harper out front, followed by Edsall and McIlvaine.

With thunder rumbling off in a distance, the second Over 25 Expert moto got under way, with the holeshot going to Frank Eckel. Dengler, Harper and McIlvaine followed closely. Eckels’ lead was short-lived, as all three riders got by him early on and set off to do battle on their own. The storm clouds gave way to rain, which picked up as the moto wore on, but it didn’t seem to affect the top three. Harper went on for the win, followed by Dengler and McIlvaine.

Harper took the overall victory, followed by McIlvaine and Dengler.

The Over 25 Amateur class shot off the line for their first moto, and KPS-sponsored Michael Yonkowski grabbed the holeshot, followed closely by Allan Duigon and Rich Jacobs. Duigon pushed his Honda past Yonkowski and took the lead heading onto the back of the track. The lead trio was joined by Suzuki rider Brian Cirello and yet another Honda rider, Ryan Dancik. These five racers were engaged in a tight battle for the lead; just as Jacobs tried to stuff his way into the lead, he opened the door for Dancik to double-jump his way into the lead, going past Jacobs and Duigon with the same move.

Behind Dancik, changes were going on. First, Jacobs stalled his bike; then Duigon washed out in a slippery corner, leaving Cirello to chase down Dancik. That wasn’t going to happen in this moto, as Victor Palmieri and Patrick Doyle got by him. Dancik was long gone. The moto ended with Dancik taking the win, followed by Palmieri and Doyle.

The rains that had started during the Over 25 Expert moto increased in intensity for the second Over 25 Amateur moto, turning the track into a muddy quagmire. Palmieri jumped out to an early lead, followed by first-moto winner Dancik and then Doyle. Dancik eventually slithered by Palmieri and went on to win the moto in the worsening conditions. Palmieri survived those conditions to take second, and Doyle followed up in third.

The rains continued for much of the afternoon, allowing the “mudders” to shine as the track continued to break down and get worse with each moto. Only the strong survive, and the riders with heart and preparation were rewarded with good moto finishes.


65 (7-9): 1. Jacob Hartranft (Yam); 2. Tyler J. Betsch (Kaw); 3. Rocky Cagno (Suz); 4. Ty Ladich (Suz); 5. Brandon Hartranft (Kaw).

65 (10-11): 1. Matthew Gahrmann (Suz); 2. Richie Trevelise (Suz).

85 (10-11): 1. Jake Scott (Yam); 2. Thomas Sherby (Hon); 3. Matthew Gahrmann (Suz); 4. Jacob Hartranft (Yam); 5. Robert Marshall Jr. (Kaw).

85 (12-13): 1. Frank Lettieri (Suz); 2. Michael Sowa (Suz); 3. Charles Burnett (Kaw); 4. Daniel South (Kaw); 5. Bill Liesch (Kaw).

85 (14-15): 1. Dakota Kessler (Hon); 2. Nick Meyers (Suz); 3. Billy Allen Jr. (Suz); 4. Trey Rasmussen (Kaw); 5. Robbie Babb (Hon).

JR MINI (9-13): 1. Austin Harvey (Kaw); 2. Jake Scott (Yam); 3. Adam Scicchitano (Suz); 4. Bobby Lipyanck (KTM).

S/MINI (12-15): 1. Frank Lettieri (Suz); 2. Dakota Kessler (Hon); 3. Kevin M. Hudson (Kaw); 4. Michael Sowa (Suz); 5. Billy Allen Jr. (Suz).

125 NOV: 1. Dan Callahan (Suz); 2. Mike Lacerenza (Suz); 3. Joey Peditto (Suz); 4. William Francisco (Yam); 5. Christopher Tierney (Hon).

125 AM: 1. Nick Lacerenza (Suz); 2. Peter Devlin (Suz); 3. Ryan Gainey (Hon); 4. James Mushalla (Yam); 5. Anthony Roth (Hon).

125 EX: 1. Barry Carsten (Suz); 2. Michael Gesso (Suz); 3. James McIlvaine (Hon); 4. Brian Smith (Kaw); 5. Richard Lax (Yam).

250 NOV: 1. Dan Callahan (Suz); 2. Christopher Tierney (Hon); 3. Joey Peditto (Suz); 4. Scott Kukan (Hon); 5. Dan Ryall (Hon).

250 AM: 1. Anthony Roth (Hon); 2. Nick Lacerenza (Suz); 3. Jeffrey Yeomans Jr. (Yam); 4. Derek Zydalis (Hon); 5. Mike Emick (Yam).

250 EX: 1. Barry Carsten (Suz); 2. Jason Harper (Suz); 3. Darren Edsall (Hon); 4. Jeff Roma (Hon); 5. Ken Bordzuk (Hon).

WMN: 1. Virginia Roma (Yam); 2. Tammy Longacre (Hon); 3. Meaghan Metz (Yam); 4. Jennifer Singleton (Yam).

SCHBY (12-15): 1. Ryan Gainey (Hon); 2. Mike Lacerenza (Suz); 3. Matthew Gillespie (Yam); 4. Frank Lettieri (Suz); 5. Zachariah Hamm (Kaw).

CLGBY (16-24): 1. Anthony Roth (Hon); 2. Peter Devlin (Suz); 3. James Mushalla (Yam); 4. Jeffrey Yeomans Jr. (Yam); 5. Derek Zydalis (Hon).

25+ AM: 1. Ryan Dancik (Hon); 2. Victor Palmieri (Hon); 3. Patrick Doyle (Yam); 4. Danny Campora (Hon); 5. Brian Cirello (Suz).

25+ EX: 1. Jason Harper (Suz); 2. James McIlvaine (Hon); 3. Joel Dengler (Hon); 4. Darren Edsall (Hon); 5. Onorino Fascelci (Hon).

30+ NOV: 1. Sean Gillies (Hon); 2. Keith Adolf (Suz); 3. Alfred Batelli (Hon); 4. Jeffrey Yeomans Sr. (Yam); 5. Mike Biondo (Hon).

30+ AM: 1. Ryan Dancik (Hon); 2. Ed Graham (Suz); 3. John Tavernese (Yam); 4. James Kusmider (Hon); 5. Alex Listash (Hon).

30+ EX: 1. Barry Carsten (Suz); 2. James McIlvaine (Hon); 3. Darren Edsall (Hon); 4. Larry Harper (Suz); 5. Robert Quinn (Hon).

40+ AM: 1. Albert Perzan (Hon); 2. Mark Schaaf (Hon); 3. Ken Roma (Hon); 4. Jochy Gomez (Hon); 5. Steve Lewis (Suz).

40+ EX: 1. Larry Harper (Suz); 2. Marc Tiesler (Hon); 3. Ken Bordzuk (Hon); 4. Ronald Venza (Hon); 5. Craig Hatch (Hon).