Futrell’s Four-For-Four ForayENGLISHTOWN, NJ

Warm temperatures and a threat of severe storms greeted the more than 600 riders who came to Old Bridge Township’s Raceway Park for round seven of the Ultimate MX Series. The District 6 Promoters Group created this new-for-2008 series that will take place over the summer, with a race at each of the district’s nine tracks. With contingencies on the line from all of the major manufacturers at most rounds and a series points championship at stake, the competition was sure to be intense.

And intense it was, as some of the fastest riders in the Northeast showed up to compete. The big winner for the weekend was clearly Clinton, North Carolina’s Taylor Futrell. The VPE/Serious Racewear Honda rider showed the fans at Englishtown that he would be the guy to beat in the A-class this August in Tennessee. Although Futrell didn’t get the holeshot in every moto, he did quickly dispatch the rest of the class on his way to a perfect four-for-four day.

Keeping Futrell honest in the 250 Expert class was Thor-backed Kawasaki rider Brian Mulcahy, who used 2-4 moto scores to claim second overall behind the Honda speedster. Third overall was Shift/Matt’s Honda-backed Ryan Blizzard, with 4-3 finishes.

In 450 Expert-class racing, KPS/MCC-backed Dakota Kessler went 2-2 to keep Futrell in sight for second overall, with another Honda rider in third – Trapani’s/Dragon-sponsored Anthony Roth, whose 4-3 scores narrowly edged New Jersey hero Barry Carsten’s 3-4 tally for third overall.

As good as Futrell was in the Expert class, Cicero, New York’s Josh Emmi was just as dominant… almost. Only Sal Calamita was able to stop the Kawasaki rider’s dominance. Emmi won both 450 B motos, with Kyle Sidle putting his Lebanon Valley Cycles-backed Suzuki in second with 2-2 finishes and Delmarva Powersports-sponsored Joshua Willin using 3-5 scores for third. Emmi was able to win the first 250 B moto, followed by Sidle and Yamaha rider Kody Renzland. In the second moto, Honda-mounted Calamita was able to ruin Emmi’s perfect day. Emmi held on to second, with Sidle in third. Emmi won the overall, followed by Calamita and Sidle in second and third, respectively.

Despite the midafternoon rain delay, the track held up well and the racing was exciting in all classes. For more information on the Ultimate MX Series, visit www.amadistrict6.com; for more on Raceway Park, visit www.racewaypark.com.


50 OIL-INJ (4-6): 1. Danny Congdon; 2. George Doherty; 3. Jordan Jarvis; 4. Alyssa Bolden (Cob); 5. Grant Desiderio (KTM).

50 OIL-INJ (7-8): 1. Duke Gomez (KTM); 2. Ryder Fox (KTM); 3. Lawrence Fellippello (KTM).

50 (4-6) STK: 1. Bryton Carroll; 2. Jordan Jarvis; 3. George Doherty; 4. Evan Knoll (KTM); 5. Danny Congdon.

50 (7-8) STK: 1. Joseph Mancini; 2. Cody Wagner; 3. Eddie Clark; 4. Trenton Poust (KTM); 5. Devin Kusmider (KTM).

65 (7-9): 1. Brandon Hartranft (KTM); 2. Sean Gillies (KTM); 3. Justin Tompkins (Suz); 4. Joe Tait; 5. Peter Davis (Suz).

65 (10-11): 1. Alexander Frye (KTM); 2. Andrew Maroney (KTM); 3. Schae Thomas (KTM); 4. Miguel Correia (Suz); 5. Joseph Galbraith (Suz).

85 (9-11): 1. Alexander Frye (KTM); 2. Brandon Hartranft (Yam); 3. Jacob Hartranft (Yam); 4. Luke Palonicola (Kaw); 5. Miguel Correia (Suz).

85 (12-13): 1. Luke Renzland (Yam); 2. Jesse Pierce (Suz); 3. Kevin Tompkins (Suz); 4. Matthew Gahrmann (Kaw); 5. Michael Pettit (Suz).

85 (14-15): 1. Adam Scicchitano (Suz); 2. Ryan Hernandez (Hon); 3. Alexander Miller (Yam); 4. Kevin Seidel (Yam); 5. Christian Valdes (Kaw).

JR MINI (9-13): 1. Jesse Pierce (Suz); 2. Alexander Frye (KTM); 3. Kevin Tompkins (Suz); 4. Jacob Hartranft (Yam); 5. Max Gomez (Suz).

S/MINI (12-14): 1. Luke Renzland (Yam); 2. Kevin Tompkins (Suz); 3. Brad Roth (Suz); 4. Jesse Pierce (Suz); 5. Avery Brown (Suz).

S/MINI (14-16): 1. Avery Brown (Suz); 2. Brad Roth (Suz); 3. Adam Scicchitano (Suz); 4. Stephen Vertucci (Hon); 5. Connor Vail (Hon).

125 2-STRK: 1. Jude Harper (Yam); 2. Brian Ruggierio (Hon); 3. Tom Duggan (Hon); 4. Patrick Duddy (Yam).

250 NOV: 1. Jake Scott (Yam); 2. Frank Robie (Suz); 3. Kyle Thompson (Hon); 4. Timmy Vogel (Suz); 5. Marcello Vasquez (Hon).

250 AM: 1. Josh Emmi (Kaw); 2. Sal Calamita (Hon); 3. Kyle Sidle (Suz); 4. Kody Renzland (Yam); 5. Zak Klaptosky (Suz).

250 PRO/EX: 1. Taylor Futrell (Hon); 2. Brian Mulcahy (Kaw); 3. Ryan Blizzard (Kaw); 4. Anthony Roth (Hon); 5. Kyle Willis (Hon).

OPEN NOV: 1. Kyle Thompson (Hon); 2. Sean Koeller (KTM); 3. Patrick Desantis (Suz); 4. Larry Cella (Kaw); 5. Marcello Vasquez (Hon).

OPEN AM: 1. Josh Emmi (Kaw); 2. Kyle Sidle (Suz); 3. Joshua Willin; 4. Zak Klaptosky (Suz); 5. Tyler Golding (Hon).

OPEN EX: 1. Taylor Futrell (Hon); 2. Dakota Kessler (Hon); 3. Anthony Roth (Hon); 4. Barry Carsten (Suz); 5. Brian Mulcahy (Kaw).

WMN (12+): 1. Nikki Stewart (Yam); 2. Samantha Fritz (Hon); 3. Rachel Engdahl (Suz); 4. Madison Lindeman (Kaw); 5. Melinda Giberson (Yam).

SCHBY (12-16) 2-STRK: 1. Frank Lettieri (Suz); 2. Luke Renzland (Yam); 3. Michael Mackeprang (Kaw); 4. Jake Scott (Yam); 5. Tyler Hawk (Yam).

SCHBY (14-16) 4-STRK: 1. Frank Lettieri (Suz); 2. Sal Calamita (Hon); 3. Kyle Sidle (Suz); 4. Michael Sowa (Kaw); 5. Kody Renzland (Yam).

CLGBY (14-24): 1. Nick Johnson (Hon); 2. Michael Sowa (Kaw); 3. Jon Reber (Suz); 4. Joshua Willin; 5. Donald Daquila (Kaw).

30+ AM: 1. Frank Smith (Yam); 2. Dean Bush (Hon); 3. John Ward (Hon); 4. Michael Dardzinski (Kaw); 5. Michael Lewis (Hon).

30+ NOV: 1. Gerry Scaletti (Hon); 2. James Pizzo (Kaw); 3. Patrick Nolan (Yam); 4. Emiliano Penazzi (Kaw); 5. Neal Witson (Yam).

30+ VET EX: 1. Barry Carsten (Suz); 2. Kurt McMillen (Suz); 3. James McIlvaine (Hon); 4. Darren Edsall (Hon); 5. Brian Smith (Kaw).

35+ A: 1. Kurt McMillen (Suz); 2. James McIlvaine (Hon); 3. Jerry Seip (Hon); 4. Victor Schepisi (Hon); 5. Mark Loniewski (Hon).

35+ B: 1. John Ward (Hon); 2. Ethan Waybright (Hon); 3. Michael Lewis (Hon); 4. John Tavernese (Suz); 5. David Hall (Hon).

40+ B/C: 1. Dean Bush (Hon); 2. Dean Mauro (Kaw); 3. Patrick Nolan (Yam); 4. Phil Spagnola (Hon); 5. Bill Ostlin (Hon).

40+ SR EX: 1. Barry Carsten (Suz); 2. Kurt McMillen (Suz); 3. James McIlvaine (Hon); 4. Jerry Seip (Hon); 5. Marc Tiesler (Hon).

45+: 1. Jerry Seip (Hon); 2. Joseph Fritz (Hon); 3. Rick Rosseter (Kaw); 4. James McGee (Suz); 5. Jose Clemente (Hon).